…but for the thoughts running through my mind

About the book

…but for the thoughts running through my mind is my eighth collection of poems.

Softcover 5.5 x 8.5 in., 126 pages
Alarm Cat Press #ART 58
ISBN: 9780998878102
1 January 2017

Smashwords e-book edition (ePub & Kindle)
ISBN: 9781370715381
6 February 2017

Amazon Kindle e-book edition (Kindle)
6 February 2017

What’s in the book

The contents are divided into six sections:

Alphabet Poems I & II feature poems written in a form of my own devising. The number of lines in each poem is based on the position of the first letter of the title in the alphabet—so the A poems consist of one line, the B poems consist of two lines, and so on.

Sample poem: Gently across the water

Scenarios and Observations contains poems about imagined vignettes and small moments I have witnessed.

Sample poem: ‘Be safe out there.’

Shadorma is a six-line form consisting of specified syllable counts: 3-5-3-3-7-5. A shadorma may have multiple stanzas, but each stanza must adhere to the form.

Sample poem: A bad place to be stuck at night

Grief contains a few poems prompted by the unexpected death of Lucy, the alarm cat.

Sample poem: Never coming back

In My Bubble focuses on more obviously introspective poems.

Sample poem: Half-asleep poem

Places to buy the book

Print edition

Barnes & Noble

E-book editions

Smashwords (ePub & Kindle)
Barnes & Noble (ePub)
iTunes (ePub)
Amazon Kindle (Kindle)

Order from your local independent bookstore

If you’re not sure what bookstores are in your area, you can look them up by ZIP code on Indiebound.org.

(Revived 30 July 2018)